Algerian Riyad Mahrez is 2016 African Player of the Year

Algerian international Riyad Mahrez has been crowned 2016 African Player of the Year in Nigeria’s capital, Abuja.
He beats Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Senegalese winger Sadio Mane to be the winner of the continent’s top football award.
“It’s a huge honour to receive this award, I want to thank all my teammates,my family, Africa, Nigeria as well,” a happy Mahrez said.

Below are the other awards presented on Thursday night at the Abuja International Conference Centre in Nigeria.
  • African Player of the Year: Riyad Mahrez
  • CAF Platinum Award: Muhammadu Buhari
  • Football Leader of the Year: Manuel Lopes Nascimento
  • African Player of the Year – Based in Africa: Denis Onyango
  • Referee of the Year: Bakary Papa Gassama
  • Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala
  • 2016 Coach of the Year: Pitsoo Mosimane
  • 2016 Youth Player of the Year: Alex Iwobi
  • 2016 Most Promising Player of the Year: Kelechi Iheanacho
  • Club of the Year: Memelodi Sundowns
  • Women’s National Team of the Year: Nigeria
  • National Team of the Year: Uganda 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.