FIFA introduces 'Best Football Awards' - but what and when are they?

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Antoine Griezmann are up for the top honour at The Best Fifa Awards – here’s everything you need to know.

What are The Best Fifa Awards?
Fifa have introduced the 'Best Football Awards' after splitting with France Football magazine, which meant they had to end their association with the Ballon d'Or award.
The association between Fifa and France Football started in 2010 when the 'World Player of the Year' award was paired with France Football's Golden Ball. That award is still being run by France Football and was won by Ronaldo for the fourth time in 2016.
When are The Best Fifa Awards?
Monday, January 9 at midday, according to the Fifa website. The glitzy ceremony is due to be held in Zurich and will be hosted by actress Eva Longoria alongside presenter Marco Schreyl.
What categories are there?
The Best Fifa Men's Player
The Best Fifa Women's Player
The Best Fifa Men's Coach
The Best Fifa Women's Coach
The Fifa Fair Play Award
The Fifa Puskás Award
The Fifa Fan Award
Fifa FIFPro World11
How is the voting process calculated?
The men's and women's player and coach awards will be decided by a two-part process in a 50-50 split.
The captains and head coaches of all the world's national teams count for 50 per cent of the result and the other 50 per cent will be made up votes from 200 football journalists and an online public ballot.
So, this means you have a chance to influence the voting as 25 per cent of the results will be decided by football fans. You can make your vote (one per person) via the FIFA website.
Who is up for main awards?
The shortlists were whittled down to three per award on December 2:
Best Fifa Men's Player: Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid), Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid), Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona).
Best Fifa Women's Player: Melanie Behringer (FC Bayern Munich), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Marta (FC Rosengård)
Best Fifa Men's Coach: Claudio Ranieri (Leicester City), Fernando Santos (Portuguese national team), Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid)
Best Fifa Women's Coach: Jill Ellis (US national team), Silvia Neid (Germany national team), Pia Sundhage (Swedish national team)
What is the FIFPro World11?
The Fifa FIFPro World11 is decided by the players, for the players - in the same format as the PFA Team of the Year is deliberated in this country at the end of every season.
It involves votes from more than 25,000 professional footballers from over 75 different countries and they each select one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.
The 55-man shortlist was revealed at the start of December, including 14 players from the Premier League with Jamie Vardy, N'Golo Kante, Dimitri Payet and Claudio Bravo among the nominees.
The final FIFA FIFPro World11 will be announced at the awards ceremony.
Who is up for The Fifa Fan Award?
This new award recognises an outstanding fan moment or gesture from the calendar year 2016. An experts' panel composed of Zvonimir Boban, Marta, Gabriel Batistuta and Vladimir Petkovic selected the three top moments from the year. They selected:
ADO Den Haag fans during their 3-1 defeat to Feyenoord: Fans of the Dutch side brought along stuffed toys to their league match at Feyenoord's De Kuip stadium and, ahead of kick-off, hurled the soft toys down on the Feyenoord fans below them. The supporters who received the gifts were from Rotterdam's Sophia Children's Hospital.
Liverpool and Borussia Dortmund fans: During their Europa League quarter-final "You'll Never Walk Alone" was sung loud and proud by both the home and away ends at Anfield as an act of solidarity to remember those that lost their life in the Hillsborough disaster.
Iceland fans at Euro 2016: Iceland won the hearts of Europe in the summer both on and off the pitch. The Icelandic players leading a superbly-choreographed Viking Thunder Clap after their defeat to France became one of the iconic images of the entire tournament.
Source: All Football 

No comments

Powered by Blogger.